top of page

Nicholas Valeriano Vice President Speech


Good afternoon, my name's nick valeriano and I'm running for vice president. Although there is many people throughout my lifetime who inspired me, I am going to talk about an athlete.Maybe more people will be able to relate to this. Derek Jeter- the captain. when you think about a man like Derek Jeter, you think of a leader, you think of passion, the love for the game. I Once read a biography about him and his background. Everyone sees what he did on the field, how he performed when the game was on the line. Nobody really knows how he got there or how he grew up.

One thing you may not know about Derek is that he had an African American father and his mother was of irish descent. Both being a part of the army, they met in 1972 stationed in Germany. When they got married, in some parts of the country, interracial marriage was still illegal. This shows how far we have come in our country already for interracial marriage is much more common and accepted.

His parents weren't very easy on im and his sister them either. Derek and his sister Sharlee had to sign a contract for their study habits, grades, curfew times and abstaining from drugs and alcohol. He also had other rules like doing an hour of homework after school every day before doing anything else. They insisted on good behavior and respect. Jeter was very tough on himself as well. Everyone saw what he did on the field, but nobody knows how much hard work and effort was put in off the field. For example, if his friends were to come over his house while he was training for baseball, he would allow his friends to make themselves comfortable while he continued to train until he felt he was done. Baseball always came first. He would push himself to be a better player. He told his parents at a very young age, he wanted to play for the new york yankees one day, and they encouraged him. After playing 4 years of varsity baseball for his high school, he was drafted to the yankees organization in 1992. However he didn't quiet perform the way he planned. He had 53 errors in 1993. He also only batted 202. After countless nights crying on the phone to his parents, begging to come home, his parents wouldn't let him. He was forced to work through it and it made him the player everyone knows him as today. Now you maybe asking yourselves, how in the hell does this relate to this election. I’ll tell you how. I feel I greatly relate to derek's past. My parents are hard on me as well. They are all about ethics and respect and I appreciate the little things they taught me now. We had countless hours in the batting cage, throwing bullpens, sweating and even crying. My father was always hard on me when it came to baseball. He always told me that if you want it bad enough and are willing to put in the work, you can do it. Like Jeter, I wouldn’t be the person I am today without my parents. Like Jeter, I am a leader, a captain that will lead us to a world series ring, or a stable economy in this case. Like Jeter, I will work hard behind the scenes. Like Jeter, our country will face hardships that we will have to overcome. Mistakes will happen. As Derek was to baseball, I am to this election. Vote me for vice president and my partner Tristan Saade for Pres. Thank you, and I hope you make the right choice.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page